This region comprises three mountain ranges north and east of Douglas, Arizona. These ranges are the Chiricahua, Dragoon, and Peloncillo Mountains. It  comprises three formerly separate national forests: Chiricahua National Forest, Dragoon National Forest and Peloncillo National Forest, all combined into the Coronado National Forest, and surrounds the Chiricahua National Monument, which is managed by the National Park Service.

Region Information

Latitude: 31.8465 Longitude: -109.2915

Counties: Cochise, Graham & Greenlee

Unique Flora:

Arizona sycamore (Platanus wrightii)

Johann’s pine (Pinus johannis)

Douglas-fir (Pseudotsuga menziesii var. glauca)

Unique Fauna:

Chiricahua leopard frog (Lithobates chiricahuensis Syn. Rana chiricahuensis)

Elegant trogon (Trogon elegans)


Highest Point: Chiricahua Peak: 9,759 ft (2,975 m)

and possible drizzle

Lowest Point: Left Hand Canyon: 3,440 ft (1,050 m)

and partly cloudy


Points of Interest

What To Do

Image of Cochise Stronghold

Cochise Stronghold

  1. Read more information on the Coronado National Forest page
  2. Learn about the history
Image of Peloncillo, Chiricahua and Dragoon Mouintains

Peloncillo, Chiricahua and Dragoon Mouintains

Remote hiking

Gorgeous views

Hiking trails of all levels

Image of Cave Creek Canyon

Cave Creek Canyon

Learn more information from Friends of Cave Creek Canyon