This area comprises the mountain ranges surrounding the city of Safford, Arizona. These five ranges are the Pinaleño, Galiuro, Santa Teresa, Winchester, and Greasewood Mountains. Included in this area is the highest peak of the Pinaleños, Mount Graham. Mount Graham National Forest was a formerly separate national forest, combined into Crook National Forest on July 1, 1908. In 1953 part of Crook was absorbed into Coronado National Forest.

Region Information

Latitude: 32.7017 Longitude: -109.8715

Counties: Graham, Pinal

Unique Flora:

Bigtooth maple (Acer grandidentatum)

Engelmann spruce (Picea engelmannii)


Unique Fauna:

American black bear (Ursus americanus)

Coue’s white tail deer (Odocoileus virginianus couesi)

Mount Graham red squirrel (Tamiasciurus hudsonicus grahamensis)

Highest Point: Mount Graham: 10,720 feet (3,267 m)

and clear

Lowest Point: Aravaipa Creek: 4,460 ft (1,359 m)

and clear


Points of Interest