This region comprises three mountain ranges west of Sierra Vista, Arizona. These ranges are the Huachuca, Patagonia, and Whetstone Mountains. Included in this area is the highest peak in the Huachucas and third highest in Southern Arizona, Miller Peak, and the region of the Huachucas known as Canelo Hills. The district includes the formerly separate Huachuca National Forest.

Each of the three ranges includes miles of trails, campsites, and scenic roads, along with a high amount of biodiversity for the region.

Region Information

Latitude: 31.4588 Longitude: -110.2563

Counties: Cochise & Santa Cruz

Unique Flora:

Apache pine (Pinus engelmannii)

Gambel’s oak (Quercus gambelii)

Ponderosa pine (Pinus ponderosa)

Unique Fauna:

Berylline hummingbird (Amazilia beryllina)

Oslar’s eacles (Eacles oslari)

Tyrant flycatchers (Tyrannidae sp.)

Highest Point: Miller Peak: 9,466 ft (2,885 m)

and partly cloudy

Lowest Point: Providencia Canyon: 3,800 ft (1,152 m)

and clear


Points of Interest